Racing has been a part of Estevan history for many years. One of the first race tracks in this area was located near the water tower, where many residential homes are now. The next home for the speedway was hwy 18 west (across from hidden valley and the track itself is still there!).  Later the speedway would be moved to the old airport on highway 47 which was later mined. 

… so much of the landscape has changed over the years, but not the passion for this sport!

The current Estevan Motor Speedway and it’s location was the brainchild of community members in the late nineties, as there had been no racing in Estevan for a number of years. The plans for the current facility was spearheaded by Lawrence Lafrentz, Jim Barnstable, Dean Seeman, and a few others. Initially, these volunteers approached the Luscar mine about leasing land in order to build a race track. Luscar coal donated the land to the Estevan Motor Speedway in 1999, which the speedway would then own. Later the speedway would donate a portion of the land to the Motocross club, where their track is now. 

Through the fall and very mild winter of 1999 construction began on the 3/8 mile high-bank oval. Business owners, along with hundreds of volunteers worked tirelessly to get the facility operational for spring racing. By the spring of 2000 the Estevan Auto Racing Association 2000 Inc. was formed and dirt track racing began once again in Estevan.

Throughout the years, many valued volunteers have given their time and resources to make our track a success. It has been and will continue to be a community project. The Estevan Motor Speedway is EVERYONE’S TRACK.

For some, the facility is a place to catch a race now and then on a Saturday night, but for others, the Estevan Motor Speedway is HOME. The contributions have been many and widespread – it is because of the strong community support, the Estevan Motor Speedway continues to grow and thrive. We produce some of the greatest talent in dirt track racing, and boast world-class volunteers who give their time to ensure each race day is a success.

As a small token of appreciation for all the valued and dedicated volunteers, the Estevan Motor Speedway Wall of Fame will be a lasting and permanent legacy to the time and effort spent making dirt track racing a reality in Southeast Saskatchewan. In 2013, plans were set in motion for the construction of the wall at the track, and each year three recipients of the “Wall of Fame Dedication” are announced and honored at our annual banquet held in November.


  • Total track length is a 3/8 mile oval with a 25-30 degree banking
  • There are just under 1500 seats in main grandstands with an additional 400 seats in pit grandstands
  • Jim Barnstable ( hall of famer) and his crew fabricated and built the structure for the original main grandstand
  • All of the grandstands (seats and backs) came from Buffalo Bills stadium (but were purchased from a different company-not the buffalo bills)- and hauled to their current home by a local company, Bert Baxter Transport.
  • The late Lawrence Lafentz did all the base dirt work (also a Hall of Famer)
  • 12 tandem trucks (12 yards) hauled the dirt surface from behind Kramer tractor – done on remembrance day 1999 – this included the combined efforts of many local companies including Glen Peterson Construction, Prairie Western Reclamation, Harris Oilfield, Turnbull Excavating and just about anybody else who could get a tandem out there!
  • Clint Prette poured half, and George and Andy Bourassa did the other half of the concrete for the front straight away wall
  • The steel for the light poles at the track were graciously donated from IPSCO in Regina (now Evraz)


2020 – TBD

2019 – Les Elson

2018 – James Gustafson

2017 – Ken Murray

2016 – Ken Steinke & Brian Brandon

2015 – Pat Boyle & Dean Seeman & Reg Stevens

2014 – Carl Maley & Don Cook

2013 – Bertha Harris, Jim Barnstable, & Lawrence Lafrentz